“The work of education is divided between the teacher and the environment”

Early Years Foundation Stage – Nursery Curriculum

At St. George’s Nursery we understand that each child is unique and we identify each child’s individual needs. In turn, our team plan an appropriate range of varied activities to grow and develop their interests and understanding and deepen all areas of learning. This ensures that each child goes on a personalised learning journey.

We follow the Early Years Foundations Stage (EYFS), a government framework for learning, development and care of children from birth to five. Its purpose is to provide all children with the best possible learning opportunities and experiences to help each child reach their full potential. This will ensure your child is ready for school when they leave St. George’s Nursery. It is a child- centred approach to learning.

Development Framework & Curriculum

The EYFS is grouped into three prime areas and four specific areas of learning as follows:

  • – Literacy
  • – Physical Development
  • – Understanding of the World
  • – Communication and Language
  • – Mathematics
  • – Expressive Arts and Design
  • – Personal, social and Emotional

In order to be prepared for the future, children have to learn to develop their curiosity, self-confidence and determination and learn how to use to their creativity and imagination. They must learn to become creative thinkers and effective communicators.

At St. George’s Nursery, we will help children to develop these skills, and will ensure that they acquire the understanding that learning is not sterile, dull or uninspiring, but rather that it leads to a world of opportunities, self-actualisation and fulfilment.